Mother’s Day Dahlia

Okay, okay, so Mother’s Day has come and gone. Like, several months gone.  But I posted earlier about what I did for Father’s Day, so it only seemed fair to share what I did for my mother.

Mother's Day felt dahlia - front

I wish I could claim this was my idea, but it wasn’t! It came from Megan Reardon of not martha. She posted a lovely (and very detailed!) tutorial on how to make these over at Holidash. She used a thicker red felt for her tutorial, but I chose to go with a slightly thinner purple (mostly because it was what I had!).  This was fairly labor intensive but I just love how it came out.  I even did a little personalizing on the back:

Mother's Day felt dahlia - back

And here it is on the mom herself!

Mom with dahlia

I liked how it came out so much that I made another one for myself! I’ve put mine on a barrette so I can wear it in my hair. It is kinda big though – it’s more like a small hat than a barrette!

Leave a Reply

