Happy Birthday Sophie!

I had all sorts of other grand plans for the post for today but all of that has been subsumed by one little girl.  One BRAND SPANKING NEW little girl!  My dear friends finally had their first child this morning and for the life of me, I just can’t stop smiling.  It’s been a long stressful day for other various reasons but I’m still grinning like an idiot.  I feel a bit giddy – Sophie is here!  Sophie is here!  Life flowered in a really awesome way this morning. That little girl has no idea how lucky she is to be born into the family she got.  Or maybe she does – babies often seem to know a whole lot more than they let on at first, right when they are fresh from that other place.  The older they get, the more they forget, but for the first few weeks, you can still see that glimmer of another place in their eyes.  She has got two amazing parents and a whole community of people who can’t wait to meet her.  What a joy to be so very wanted.

ANYwho, I just wanted to take a moment to mark the day.  It is not often you get to celebrate such joy in a completely unadulterated way.

Happy Birthday Sophie.  Welcome to the World.  I hope you find more joy than sorrow, more peace than turmoil, more love than indifference and more beauty than cruelty.

All my love,

Your other Auntie Jess

Leave a Reply

