Stop Motion Animation

I love love love stop motion animation.  I’ve played with it for years, I’ve taught it to elementary and middle school kids and the more I do it, the more I love it.  I especially love seeing what other artists are doing with the medium.  Here is a new favorite and a few classics.

This film uses a moving, layered approach to stop motion that I find absolutely captivating.  It also makes me a little emotional.  The older I get, the more aware I am of how quickly time passes.  And to see it all sped up like this, well, gosh. Its a bit overwhelming. But sentimentality aside, this film really is a little piece of brilliance.

A lot of the techniques used in the previous film have been experimented with for years.  Here is an earlier work in a similar vein done entirely with polaroids.

And finally, this is one of my all time favorites. This is the music video for Oren Lavie’s song Her Morning Elegance. I love the whimsy and the very happy/sad quality of the whole thing.

My favorites list on youtube contains lots and lots of stop motion animation. I’m thinking I might have to make a stop motion animation week to share all of my favorites with you, dear readers.  Sound good?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Greg on August 3, 2010 at 5:16 PM

    Awesome post Jess!
    I think the 3rd clip was my favorite. So clever. Sublime.

    Here’s a link to “Microman” featuring the character you and Matt made when you were over. herehttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lc8QN9SE1TA.

    LOL!

    ~Greg

    Reply

Leave a Reply

