Tops and Tails and Monsters

I discovered the blog Agence Eureka a while ago by accident (I think maybe via BibliOdyssey). I don’t know much more about it than the poster is female, from France and seems to have an unending supply of the most awesome ephemera just hanging around waiting to be scanned. Her tastes (on this blog anyway) lean towards kids card games and books, turn of the century magazines and souvenirs of travel, none more recent than the 1960s.  She is not shy with the big files (all easily downloaded off her flickr page) and I love what she has been posting lately.  This particular card game that she calls “Tops and Tails – zoo” has tickled my fancy in a big way:

zoomelo 19

zoomelo 10

zoomelo 14

I’ve loved mix-and-match things since I was a kid. One of my very favorites was a book called Mix ’em up Monsters [interesting side note: I can’t find ANYTHING on the publishers of this book online. They are called Current, Inc. and the book was published in 1980, code 3221. The one Amazon link is to the wrong book – or at least it has the wrong cover. Come one internet, help me out. Anyone? Bueller?]  I was just going to post a link to whatever online reference there was to the book, but since I couldn’t find anything, I figured I might as well dig out my old copy of it and take a few photos.  Good thing I had a vague idea which box it was hiding in…

Mix 'em up Monsters cover

This Gruesome Grump

This Greedy Glutton

This Persnickety Pest

This Slippery Scoundrel

I loved how each one had that whole alliteration thing going and the drawings were just awesome (in retrospect, very late 70s). And each time you read the book, you could make it say something a little different. I’m also fairly certain this is where I first learned the word “persnickety.”

One response to this post.

  1. […] Tops and Tails and Monsters « The Compost Pile […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

