Desk made of books

I find this desk totally appealing:

{via Recyclart}

The best part?  It is the Information Desk in a library!

UPDATE: The desk is located at Delft University of Technology in The Netherlands. From inhabitat.com“After the devastating fire in the Architecture building that took a portion of the library’s reserve, the school set out to establish a new collection that would consist of the salvaged books that went unburned and a bounty of others newly purchased to replace the destroyed volumes.”

I love how you mostly see the pages in the books and they used the covers as just a hint of color.  They could have gone the other way and arranged all the books spine out.  But I’m glad they didn’t.  It is very trendy right now to organize your book shelf by color. For example:

While I can see how that would be very eye catching, the pragmatist in me thinks, “But how would you ever find what you are looking for?”  Books are for reading and looking at, not just for being pretty on a shelf!  If your books aren’t organized by author, or by subject, or even chronologically, you’d have to remember if your book on contemporary art had a red or a blue cover to ever find it!  That is not how my brain is organized! Gah!

Sorry, tangent.

6 responses to this post.

  1. I know people who organise their books this way.

    Reply

  2. Love the desk great idea. Where is it?

    Reply

  3. […] I find this desk totally appealing: {via recyclart.org} The best part?  It is the Information Desk in a library!   …via The Compost Pile […]

    Reply

  4. Posted by doctorcrankenstein on October 6, 2010 at 4:01 AM

    My book shelf is ordered by height from left to right. The Colors look cool though… I would do it but I don’t have enough colors to make the full spectrum.

    I love the desk =] I would have made it with the spines out though…

    Reply

  5. Yes I agree about the spines out. There is a bar in West End Brisbane named Archive. Their bar top is supported by books in much the same way with the spines out. I will try to source a photo. : )

    Reply

  6. Good point, though sometimes it’s hard to arrive to definite conclusions

    Reply

Leave a Reply

